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Program Purpose 
The purpose of the State of Utah Homeowner Assistance Fund (UHAF) is to mitigate Financial Hardships 
associated with the COVID-19 pandemic occurring after January 21, 2020. The UHAF program will help 
prevent Household mortgage defaults, foreclosures, and displacements of Households. UHAF is a 
federally funded Homeowner Assistance Fund program established under section 3206 of the American 
Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (the Act). 

The United States Treasury has allocated $66,030,555 to the State of Utah for this purpose. Funds must 
be used by September 30, 2026. This UHAF policy manual (Manual) establishes the policies for UHAF. 
The policies contained within this Manual may be supplemented or modified from time to time to 
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address changes to rules, guidance, or the evolving needs of State of Utah Households. In addition to 
this Manual, a procedure document (Procedure) has been created to outline the specific processing 
steps for the UHAF program. 

 
Definitions 
100% OF THE AREA MEDIAN INCOME FOR A HOUSEHOLD - Two times the County income limit for 
very low-income families, for the relevant Household size, as published by the Department of 
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) in accordance with 42 U.S.C. 1437a(b)(2) for purposes of 
the UHAF.  

 

100% OF THE MEDIAN INCOME FOR THE UNITED STATES FOR A HOUSEHOLD - The median income 
of the United States, as published by HUD for purposes of the UHAF.  

 

150% OF THE AREA MEDIAN INCOME FOR A HOUSEHOLD- Three times the County income limit for 
very low-income families, for the relevant Household size, as published by the Department of 
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) in accordance with 42 U.S.C. 1437a(b)(2) for purposes of 
the UHAF.  

 

AMI - Area median income. The AMI will be determined by the Household Size and the County 
based zip code in which the Primary Dwelling is located. 

 
ATTESTATION - A declaration of truth signed by the UHAF Household Applicant(s). 

 
DELINQUENCY(IES) - An obligation for which a Household Applicant(s) is past due on any housing 
related UHAF qualified expense. 

 
DWELLING - Any building, structure, or portion thereof that is occupied as, or designed or intended 
for occupancy as, a Primary Dwelling by one or more individuals and is taxed as Primary Residential 
Real Property by the County Assessor. 

 
EXPENDITURE/EXPENDED - Any UHAF assistance that has been spent by a UHAF Participant and/or 
Subrecipient. 

 
FINANCIAL HARDSHIP - A material reduction in income, or material increase in living expenses, 
associated with the COVID-19 pandemic, that has created or increased a risk of mortgage 
delinquency, mortgage default, foreclosure, or displacement for a Household Applicant(s). The 
Financial Hardship may have begun prior to January 21, 2020, but must have continued after 
January 21, 2020 and be associated with the COVID-19 pandemic. 



3  

FIRST MORTGAGE - The primary loan that pays for a Primary Dwelling. 

 
HOUSEHOLD - Any of the following individuals will be considered members of the Primary 
Dwelling’s Household: 

● Any individual residing in the Primary Dwelling for 183 days or more; 
● Any children who are temporarily placed in foster homes; 
● Children in joint custody who spend 183 days or more living in the Primary Dwelling; 
● Children who live in the Primary Dwelling that are in the process of being adopted; 
● Household members who are temporarily residing in a hospital, rehabilitation center or a 

nursing home; and 
● Other household members who are temporarily absent (less than 183 days). To be considered 

temporarily absent, the person must intend to return to the Primary Dwelling when the 
purpose of the temporary absence ends. 

 
The following individuals will not be considered members of a household: 

● Live-in aids; and 
● Guests (individuals living in the household less than 183 days). 
● Unrelated renters who pay fair market rent by lease agreement in order to live in the dwelling. 

Rental payments received are income for the landlord.1 
 

HOUSEHOLD SIZE – Is the number of people in the Household who occupy the Residential Dwelling on 
the date of application. 

 
HOUSEHOLD APPLICANT(S) - The individual(s) listed on the mortgage statement(s) and County 
Primary Residential Real Property tax records for the Primary Dwelling who is a member of the 
Primary Dwelling’s Household. Individual(s) must hold a vested legal or equitable ownership interest 
in the Primary Dwelling. 

 
HOUSEHOLD INCOME - The total annual income of all members of the Household per HUD’s definition 
of “annual income” in 24 CFR 5.609. Rent from individuals residing in the Primary Dwelling are included 
in the Household Income. Public benefits, such as Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits, 
are excluded from the calculation of income. 

 
HUD - U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

 
MATERIAL INCREASE IN LIVING EXPENSES - An increase in Household living expenses associated 
with the COVID-19 pandemic that has created a risk of mortgage delinquency, mortgage default, 
foreclosure, or displacement for a Household Applicant(s). Increase in living expenses resulting 
from inflation does not meet this definition. 

 

                                                            
1 Clarification of unrelated renters not being part of household added 6/26/23 
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MATERIAL REDUCTION IN INCOME - A decrease in Household Income associated with the COVID- 
19 pandemic that has created a risk of mortgage delinquency, mortgage default, foreclosure, or 
displacement for a homeowner. 

 
MAXIMUM CONFORMING LOAN LIMIT - For the purposes of the UHAF program, the applicable 
limitation governing the maximum original principal obligation of a First Mortgage, combined with 
the Second Mortgage if applicable, secured by a Primary Dwelling as determined and adjusted 
annually under section 302(b)(2) of the Federal National Mortgage Association Charter Act (12 
U.S.C. 1717(b)(2)) and section 305(a)(2) of the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation Act (12 
U.S.C. 1454(a)(2)). A loan secured by a manufactured home that meets the definition of Primary 
Dwelling falls within this definition if it satisfies the criteria in this paragraph. 

 
MONETARY UHAF ASSISTANCE - UHAF assistance in the form of money provided on behalf of a 
Household Applicant(s) to financial institutions, taxing authorities, and other third-party payees under a 
UHAF Program. Legal fees and costs, incurred by, on behalf of, and for representation of the 
Household Applicant(s) are not considered acceptable use of the UHAF program. Legal fees and 
costs initiated by the lender or servicer of qualified expenses of the UHAF program, incurred on 
behalf of and for the purposes of reclaiming arrearages on the Household Applicant(s) are 
considered acceptable uses of the UHAF program. 

 
MORTGAGE - Any credit transaction (1) that is secured by a mortgage, deed of trust, or other 
consensual security interest on a Primary Dwelling of a borrower that is a one-to four-unit Dwelling and 
(2) the unpaid principal balance of the First Mortgage and Second Mortgage, if applicable, combined, at 
the time of origination, are not more than the Maximum Conforming Loan Limit at the time of 
origination. 

 
NON-MONETARY UHAF ASSISTANCE - UHAF assistance in any form other than money provided on 
behalf of Household Applicant(s) under a UHAF Program (e.g., housing counseling, housing education or 
referral to nonprofit or not for profit legal services). Legal fees and costs, incurred by, on behalf of, and 
for representation of the Household Applicant(s) are not considered acceptable use of the UHAF 
program. Legal fees and costs initiated by the lender or servicer of qualified expenses of the UHAF 
program, incurred on behalf of and for the purposes of reclaiming arrearages on the Household 
Applicant(s) are considered acceptable uses of the UHAF program. 

 
PRIMARY DWELLING – A single one-to four-unit Dwelling that the Household Applicant(s), who is listed 
on the mortgage statement(s) and the County Primary Residential Real Property tax records, resides in 
for a minimum of 183 days or more per calendar year.
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PRIMARY RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY- The Primary Dwelling that qualifies for the State of Utah 
residential property tax exemption. 

 
PRIORITY POPULATION – As defined by the Treasury as those whose ability to purchase or own a home 
has been impaired due to diminished access to credit on reasonable terms as compared to others in 
comparable economic circumstances, based on disparities in homeownership rates in the UHAF 
participant’s jurisdiction as documented by the U.S. Census, including individual(s) who live in a 
persistent-poverty County. The impairment must stem from circumstances beyond their control. For 
the purposes of the UHAF program the following are considered the Priority Population: 

1. American Indian/Alaska Native; 
2. Asian/Asian American; 
3. Black/African American; 
4. Hispanic/Latino/a/x; 
5. Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander; 
6. English Language Learner or an individual with limited English proficiency; 
7. Residents of an Indian Reservation; or 
8. Residents of a persistent-poverty County, meaning any County that has had 20% or 

more of its population living in poverty over the past 30 years as measured by the three 
most recent decennial censuses. As documented by the US Economic Development 
Administration, San Juan County is the only County in the State of Utah that qualifies 
under this definition. 

 
QUALIFIED HOUSEHOLD APPLICANT(S) - Household Applicant(s) who meet all the UHAF criteria 
and are eligible to receive a UHAF grant. 

 
SECOND MORTGAGE - For the purposes of UHAF, a down payment assistance loan for a Primary 
Dwelling that has been provided by a nonprofit or governmental entity for the original purchase of the 
property. For the purposes of UHAF, a Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) is not included in this 
definition. 

 
SUBRECIPIENT - Non-Federal entity that receives a subaward to carry out part of a Federal program. 

 
UHAF APPLICATION - An application submitted by the unique Household Applicant(s) to the UHAF 
program used to determine eligibility to receive UHAF assistance for qualified expenses. The UHAF 
Application is located at homeownersassistance.utah.gov. 

 
UHAF ASSISTANCE - Any assistance provided by the UHAF Program, whether monetary or non- 
monetary. 

 
UHAF PARTICIPANT – The State of Utah, Department of Workforce Services. 
 

WORKER - The employee who reviews and approves or denies applications for UHAF Assistance. 
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Program Structure 
 
Administrator 
UHAF will be a joint administrative effort between the State of Utah's Department of Workforce Services 
Housing and Community Development Division (DWS-HCD) and the Community Development 
Corporation of Utah (CDCU). CDCU is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization serving as a HUD Housing 
Counseling agency, an administrator of the HUD Asset Control Area program and a National Foreclosure 
Mitigation Counseling grantee through NeighborWorks America. 

 
UHAF Application processing and procedure creation and upkeep, UHAF Assistance payments, 
counseling services, and education will be administered by CDCU. UHAF Assistance payments will be 
paid directly to the servicer, County, or provider. UHAF Assistance will not be issued to a Household 
Applicant(s). 

 
CDCU will disburse qualified expense amounts quoted by the servicer, County, or provider and any 
discrepancies between what is paid through the UHAF program and Household Applicant(s) are to be 
resolved by the Household Applicant(s). 

 
UHAF Policy, Federal reporting, community outreach programs and coordination as well as monitoring 
for federal compliance will be administered by DWS-HCD. 

 
UHAF Assistance Program CAP 
The maximum Monetary UHAF Assistance per Household Applicant(s) for their Primary Dwelling shall 
not exceed $50,000. Any Monetary UHAF Assistance provided will be in the form of a non-recourse 
grant. In no case will a Household Applicant(s) receive direct Monetary UHAF Assistance. All Monetary 
UHAF Assistance amounts will be paid directly to the servicer, County, or provider. 

 
Non-Monetary UHAF Assistance will not count toward the $50,000 Monetary UHAF Assistance amount. 

 
Each Primary Dwelling location is limited to a single approved UHAF Application. Should ownership of 
the Primary Dwelling be sold, conveyed, or otherwise transferred, the new Primary Dwelling Household 
Applicant(s) will be denied for the UHAF program. 
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Eligibility 
The UHAF program is available for the Primary Dwelling of a Household Applicant(s): 

● Whose 2022 Household Income is equal to, or less than, 150% AMI for the County in which the 
Household resides or 100% of AMI for the United States, whichever is greater; 

● Who has experienced a Financial Hardship associated with the COVID-19 pandemic after January 
21, 2020 (including a Financial Hardship that began before January 21, 2020, but continued after 
that date); 

● Who has a qualified Primary Dwelling Delinquency 
● Critical Home Repair- The UHAF Program will pay for critical primary dwelling repair costs 

including; repair or replacement of a leaking roof, obsolete electrical wiring, plumbing leakages, 
repair or replacement of inadequate or defective windows, added insulation; as available. 
Written work orders must be approved by a Subrecipient supervisor or designee, before work 
may begin. Work must be performed by licensed contractor and meet all applicable code 
requirements. Subrecipient supervisor or designee must inspect, certify work as complete, attest 
it meets applicable building standards, and applicant must also sign upon completion before 
payment will be issued2.  

● Whose original principal obligation of a First Mortgage, combined with the Second 
Mortgage as applicable, secured by the Primary Dwelling did not exceed the Maximum 
Conforming Loan Limit at the time of origination. 

● A single one-to four-unit Dwelling, provided that the Household Applicant(s) otherwise meet the 
eligibility requirements of the UHAF program. 

 
 

The UHAF program is not available for: 
● Second homes, vacant properties, rental properties, or investment properties; 
● A First Mortgage, combined with the Second Mortgage as applicable, secured by the 

Primary Dwelling that exceeded the Maximum Conforming Loan Limit at the time of 
origination; 

● A First Mortgage secured by the Primary Dwelling that exceeded the Maximum Conforming 
Loan Limit at the time of origination; 

● A Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) balance is not eligible for HAF assistance. However, if a HELOC 
is established but does not have a delinquent balance, it would not otherwise preclude HAF 
assistance3. 

                                                            
2 New UHAF eligible use added 6/26/23 
3 Clarification concerning applicants holding a HELOC added 6/26/23 
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● Household Applicant(s) whose First Mortgage, Second Mortgage, Property Taxes, Land Contract, 

Primary Dwelling Insurance, or Fees associated with the Household Applicant(s) Primary 
Dwelling cannot be brought fully current, with no remaining delinquent amounts at time of 
Eligibility Determination. 

● Expenses or liens not specifically outlined in this Policy; or 
● Household Applicant(s) that received monetary assistance from the Emergency Rental Assistance 

Program or are currently participating in any other rental assistance program administered by a 
local housing authority, municipality, or other agency. 

● Primary dwelling owner seeking a private buyer for the dwelling in which they applied for HAF 
assistance or who has listed this same property as publicly available for sale on the real estate 
market, at the time of eligibility determination.4 
 

Income Verification 
● All Household members with qualifying Household Income shall provide a written attestation 

as to the Household Income together with supporting documentation.  
 
● Income determination is made by annualizing Household Income by multiplying the most 

recent 60 days of income at the date of the application by six. Supporting documentation 
includes: 
○ 60 days of pay stubs OR an employment letter citing expected wages if income 

documentation indicates applicant received less than 30 days’ worth of pay stubs, because 
employment is newly acquired  

○ Current Unemployment Award Letter 
○ Current Social Security Award Letter 
○ Current Pension/Retirement Statements/Letters 
○ Current Disability (Temporary or SSDI) Award Letter 
○ Current Worker’s Compensation Documentation 
○ One-to four-unit rental income and accessory dwelling unit income whereby the 

accessory dwelling unit is located on the same legal parcel, or in the case of a split 
parcel, the parcels combined, as the Primary Dwelling, and any other income realized 
such as income received for renting a portion of any part of the Primary Dwelling or the 
parcel, or split parcels if applicable 

■ If an owner, tenant, or renter residing in the one-to four-unit Primary Dwelling is 
receiving Emergency Rental Assistance Program or any other rental assistance 
program administered by a local housing authority, municipality, or other 
agency, the Household Applicant(s) is not eligible for the UHAF program 

○ If Household Income is realized through self-employment, gig work or other type of 
work for payment then income will be established through a ledger of business income 
and expenses, and may also include tax returns, bank statements, profit/loss 
statements, or pay stubs. 

 

                                                            
4 Clarification concerning eligibility for applicants transferring ownership of their dwelling added 6/26/23 
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Financial Hardship Verification 
● An attestation may include supporting documentation establishing that Financial Hardship 

associated with the COVID-19 pandemic arose, or continued, after January 21, 2020. 
Supporting documentation includes: 

○ Federal Tax Returns from 2019, 2020, and/or 2021, as applicable to Financial Hardship 
associated with COVID-19 pandemic after January 21, 2020 

○ W-2’s from 2019, 2020, and/or 2021, as applicable to Financial Hardship associated with 
COVID-19 pandemic after January 21, 2020 

○ IRS Form 1099s 
○ Unemployment Award Letter 
○ Social Security Award Letter 
○ Disability (Temporary or SSDI) Award Letter 
○ Worker’s Compensation Documentation 
○ Federal Tax Returns 
○ Material Reduction in Income 

○ Increase in living expenses, including medical expenses, inadequate medical insurance, 
increase in household size, increase in childcare costs, or other costs associated with the 
COVID-19 pandemic after January 21, 2020 
 

 

Delinquency Verification 
● This shall be determined by a written attestation together with supporting documentation 

establishing that Financial Hardship associated with the COVID-19 pandemic arose, or 
continued, after January 21, 2020. Supporting documentation includes: 

○ Mortgage Statements, including delinquency notice(s), fees, penalties, and/or interest 
accrued 

○ Notice of Property Taxes that are past due 
○ Notice of Primary Dwelling Insurance payments that are past due 
○ Notice of Condominium association fees, homeowner association fees, cooperative 

maintenance fees that are past due 
 
 
Prioritization and Targeting 
Pursuant to the Treasury guidance, UHAF must prioritize assistance based on a Household’s AMI. 

 
Not less than $40,000,000 of UHAF funds will be made available exclusively to Household Applicant(s) 
whose Household Income is equal to, or less than, 100% AMI for the County in which the Household 
resides or equal to, or less than, 100% of AMI for the United States, whichever is greater. 

 
Remaining UHAF funds will be made available for Household Applicant(s) in the following priority: 

● Priority Population Household Applicant(s) with Household Income equal to, or less than, 150% 
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AMI for the County in which the Household resides in or equal to, or less than, 100% of AMI for 
the United States, whichever is greater. 

● Household Applicant(s) with Household Income equal to, or less than, 150% AMI for the County 
in which the Household resides in or equal to, or less than, 100% of AMI for the United States, 
whichever is greater. 

 
 
Primary Dwelling UHAF Assistance Payment Prioritization 
The following is a list of all qualified expenses that are allowed to be paid by the UHAF program. 
UHAF program funds will be disbursed in the following priority: 

 
1. First Mortgage – The UHAF program will provide payment to a Household Applicant(s) First 

Mortgage servicer to bring the Household Applicant(s) current on their mortgage delinquent by 
30 days or more, or cure a COVID-19 related forbearance. This includes any fees, penalties 
and/or interest incurred. 

 

The payment must fully reinstate the Household Applicant(s) delinquencies of which are eligible 
uses of the HAF program. UHAF funds may be used to pay down a portion of a partial 
claim/deferred balance. The unpaid amount remains as a partial claim/deferred balance keeping 
the mortgage amount current. If the total amount needed to bring the Household Applicant(s) 
current exceeds the Program Cap, the Household Applicant(s) must provide the necessary 
shortfall amount. If the applicant cannot provide the shortfall amount, the Subrecipient may 
work with lender if acceptable to the Servicer, to facilitate a loan modification partial 
claim/deferred payment agreement.5 

 
Chattel loan arrearages for a permanently affixed6 manufactured Primary Dwelling are eligible if 
the manufactured Primary Dwelling is taxed by the County as Primary Residential Real Property. 
Lot rent arrearages for said manufactured Primary Dwelling are also eligible uses of the UHAF 
program. 

 
2. Second Mortgage for Down Payment Assistance – If provided by a nonprofit or governmental 

entity for the original purchase of the property, the UHAF program will provide payment to a 
Household Applicant(s) Second Mortgage servicer to bring the Household Applicant(s) current 
on their second mortgage delinquent by 30 days or more, or cure a forbearance associated 
with the COVID-19 pandemic. This includes any fees, penalties and/or interest incurred. 

 
The payment must fully reinstate the Household Applicant(s) account or pay off the partial 
claim. UHAF funds may be used to pay down a portion of a partial claim/deferred balance. 
The unpaid amount remains as a partial claim/deferred balance keeping the mortgage 

                                                            
5 Clarification of intention concerning payment of Partial Claim/Deferred payments as current added 6/26/23 
6 Clarification of language concerning manufactured dwellings added 6/26/23 
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amount current. If the total amount needed to bring the Household Applicant(s) current or 
pay off the partial claim exceeds the Program Cap, the Household Applicant(s) must provide 
the necessary shortfall amount, if acceptable to the servicer. 

 
3. Critical Home Repair- The UHAF Program will pay for critical primary dwelling repair costs up to 

$15,000 including; Repair or replacement of a leaking roof, obsolete electrical wiring 
replacement, plumbing leakages, defective or inadequate window repair or replacement, and 
added insulation; as available. Written work orders must be approved by a Subrecipient 
supervisor or designee, before work may begin. Work must be performed by licensed 
contractor and meet all applicable code requirements. Subrecipient supervisor or designee 
must inspect, certify work as complete, attest it meets applicable building standards, and 
applicant must also sign upon completion before payment will be issued. 7.  

 
4. Property Taxes – The UHAF program will pay directly to the County or provider property taxes 

and other foreclosable municipal, utility or County debts that form a lien on the Primary 
Dwelling. 

 
5. Land Contract – The UHAF program will pay directly to the servicer arrears accrued under a land 

contract or rent-to-own contract if the Primary Dwelling is taxed by the County as Primary 
Residential Real Property 

 
6. Primary Dwelling Insurance – The UHAF program will pay directly to the insurance company for 

Household Applicant(s) insurance, flood insurance, wind insurance, and mortgage insurance.   
 

7. Fees - The UHAF program will pay directly to the provider any Primary Dwelling condominium 
association fees, Household Applicant(s) homeowner association fees, cooperative 
maintenance fees, and similar costs payable under a unit occupancy agreement by a resident 
member/shareholder in a cooperative housing development. Legal fees and costs, incurred 
by, on behalf of, and for representation of the Household Applicant(s) are not considered 
acceptable use of the UHAF program. Legal fees and costs initiated by the lender or servicer 
of qualified expenses of the UHAF program, incurred on behalf of and for the purposes of 
reclaiming arrearages on the Household Applicant(s) are considered acceptable uses of the 
UHAF program.

                                                            
7 New UHAF eligible use added 6/26/23 
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8. Arrearages of qualified expenses are eligible for purposes of UHAF regardless of the date they 

were incurred, including if they arose before January 21, 2020, as long as the Financial Hardship 
was associated with the COVID-19 pandemic and occurred after January 21, 2020. 
 

9. Administration, planning, counseling and education by HUD approved counseling agencies, legal 
services for eligible households related to foreclosure prevention, and community outreach will 
also be paid for by the UHAF program. 

 
Counseling and Education 

DWS will require that eligible Household Applicant(s) participate in either homeowner counseling or a 
homeowner education program facilitated by the CDCU. Participation is required to receive UHAF 
program assistance. 

 
Application Period 

 
Applications will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis. Household Applicant(s) who are in 
imminent danger of losing their Primary Dwelling through foreclosure, established by providing a copy 
of Notice of Default or Notice of Trustee sale, may receive priority review. Application submission does 
not guarantee that the Household Applicant(s) will be eligible for UHAF funds. Household Applicant(s) 
must agree to complete and sign the Initial Application, Attestation Affidavit, Application Disclosures, 
Third Party Authorizations, as well as any other forms as required by the Worker and provide all 
requested documentation within the requested time frame. The Worker shall reach out to the 
Household Applicant(s) to clarify inaccurate, incomplete information or documentation. If, after three 
attempts via phone or email, in which no response is received from the Household Applicant(s), the 
application shall be denied. 

 
If an application is denied, the Household Applicant(s) shall be given written instructions of how to file 
an appeal, contact information for the appeal process, and the deadline for filing an appeal decision. 

 
 
Quality Control 
On a monthly basis, DWS quality control employee(s) will ensure program integrity by auditing a random 
sample of at least 10% of both the Worker approved UHAF Applications and 10% of the Worker denied 
UHAF Applications for both accuracy and completeness. 

 
For each UHAF Application they review, the quality control employee(s) will compare it to the 
documentation provided and measure it against policy, procedure and other guidance. The quality 
control employee(s) have developed a common, general understanding of acceptable quality with 
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management and Workers. Additionally, the quality control employee(s) identify trends in worker errors 
and provide regular error correction feedback. 

 
Household Applicant(s) of UHAF Assistance are required to cooperate with DWS to complete these 
quality control reviews. Household Applicants may be asked to provide complete and accurate 
information about factors related to their UHAF Application, services received or eligibility. Household 
Applicant(s) may be asked to provide verification of the information being reviewed. The Household 
Applicant(s) must provide any requested information to the quality control employee(s) within 10 
business days of the request. Failure to provide the requested documentation may result in the 
Household Applicant(s) being required to repay UHAF Assistance received. 

 
The quality control employee(s), and other staff, work to identify possible trends in fraud. In cases of 
suspected fraud, the quality control employee(s) will make a reasonable effort to review the facts and 
decide whether UHAF Assistance should be issued or stopped or whether a request for repayment 
should be issued. If a UHAF Application that was awarded more than $5,000 is determined to be 
fraudulent, the UHAF Application will be referred to the Office of State Debt Collection. In cases of 
overpayment, regardless of the origination of error or falsified information, the Household Applicant(s) 
will be required to repay the funds. 

 
Overpayments and Debt Collection 

 

Subrecipients administering the HAF program will notify the servicer of any overpayment or debt by 
telephone, email, or USPS which will include the amount, and payment wire instructions to return the 
funds to the Subrecipient.  

If payment is not received within 30 calendar days, HAF Program Manager or designee will issue an Official 
Overpayment letter by USPS or email to Servicer stating the reason for, and amount of debt, due date for 
repayment, and outline possible collection options available to the Department. Copies of Demand letters 
issued will be logged by date and digitally stored in the HAF Shared files. Program staff will log any 
response or nonresponse.  

If payment is not received within 60 calendar days HAF Program Manager or designee will issue a 60-day 
letter to the servicer by certified mail referencing the debt, method of repayment, due date and collection 
actions available to the Department including referral of this debt to the Utah Office of State Debt 
Collection. 

 

Complaints 
If an applicant disagrees with a decision, or has an issue with how services were provided, the person 
may make a complaint by email to homeownersassistance@utah.gov. An initial response to a complaint 
will be given by email within three business days. 

 

 

mailto:homeownersassistance@utah.gov
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Conflicts of Interest 
A Worker may not access, review, deny or approve an application for a person that is related to 
them or for those with whom they have a close personal relationship. A related person is someone who 
is related to the Worker through blood or marriage, as defined by U.C.A., Section 52-3-1(1)(e), as father, 
mother, husband, wife, son, daughter, sister, brother, grandfather, grandmother, grandson, 
granddaughter, uncle, aunt, nephew, niece, first cousin, mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law 
sister-in-law, son-in-law or daughter-in-law. 
 
If the UHAF Applicant(s) is a Worker, their UHAF Application must be processed by the supervisor or 
manager over the program. The Worker may not access their own UHAF Application and shall not use 
work resources (e.g., time or computer equipment) to access, make inquiries about or work on their 
UHAF Application in any way. 
 

Documentation 
All decisions must be backed by documentation and written attestation. If there is a conflict between 
the documentation and the written attestation, the documentation supersedes the attestation. 
 
If after reviewing the required documentation, the Worker still identifies something that seems 
questionable, they will communicate their concerns to their manager. Additional documentation that is 
requested as necessary may include photocopies or digital photographs of documents, e-mails, or 
attestations from employers, caseworkers, or others with knowledge of the Household’s circumstances. 
 
 

Citizenship 
United States citizenship is not required to receive UHAF Assistance. However, the Household 
Applicant(s) will be required to provide documentation of legal residency in the United States. 
Acceptable forms are as follows: 
Copy of a Birth Certificate, current Driver’s License, or Social Security Card; 
Copy of a Birth Certificate, current State Issued Identification Card, or Social Security Card; 
Copy of current United States Passport; or 
Other Federally Issued documentation that provides proof of legal residency. 

 
 

Record Retention 
The State of Utah's Department of Workforce Services Housing and Community Development Division 
and the Community Development Corporation of Utah must maintain records and financial documents 
for seven (7) years after the last UHAF dollar has been expended or returned to the Treasury.
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Confidential Information 

 
Safeguarding Confidential Information 
All confidential information must be safeguarded from unauthorized disclosure and use. Workers who 
fail to safeguard confidential information may be subject to both civil and criminal penalties. 

 
First, confidential information includes identifying information about applicants or tenants – such as 
names, addresses, telephone numbers, social security numbers, etc. Second, it includes information 
used to determine eligibility – such as income, names of persons obligated to provide financial support, 
Household members, etc. Third, it includes information about benefits provided to individual 
Household Applicant(s). 
 
Information that cannot be identified to Household Applicant(s) is not confidential 
information. For example, information stating the total number of Household Applicant(s) is not 
confidential information because no one person can be identified by the general information. 

When Confidential Information May Be Released - Confidential information may only be disclosed and 
used under limited circumstances. Do not disclose or use confidential information unless it is for one of 
the purposes described below. 

 
 

Administration of the Program – Confidential information may be disclosed and used for 
purposes directly connected with the administration of the program. However, only disclose and 
use the minimum information necessary to ensure valid administration of the program. Email 
homeownerassistance@utah.gov to obtain approval to release the information. 

 
Public Request – The public may view policy manuals and receive non-identifying information about 
Household Applicant(s). The public is not entitled to information about Household Applicant(s). People 
who may demand to see confidential information because of their status as a taxpayer must be denied 
access to all confidential information. 

 
● Do not publish or otherwise disclose Household Applicant(s) names or addresses. 
● Do not use Household Applicant(s) information to distribute commercial information, political 
information, holiday greetings, public announcements, etc. 

 
 

Permission Granted by Household Applicant(s)– A Household Applicant(s) can give written permission to 
release information. A valid permission form must include the following: 

● The Household Applicant(s) name. 
● The Household Applicant(s) date of birth. 
● The name of the person or organization to whom the Household Applicant(s)is authorizing the 
release of information. 
● The purpose of releasing the information. 

mailto:homeownerassistance@utah.gov
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● The calendar date the release ends, which starts the calendar date it is signed by the 
Household Applicant(s). 
● The signature and date of the Household Applicant(s). 

 
Exceptions to this policy may be granted with the approval of the DWS-HCD Director. The Worker 
should send an email requesting an exception to homeownersassistance@utah.gov. The Worker’s email 
must include the reasons an exception should be granted. If approval is obtained, the Worker will 
upload the email chain that shows approval from the DWS-HCD Director, and any other additional 
factors considered in making the decision, into the application database.

mailto:homeownersassistance@utah.gov
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Utah Homeowners Assistance Fund (UHAF) - Program Term Sheet 
 
 
 

Program Overview The UHAF program was established under section 3206 of the American 
Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (“ARPA”) to mitigate financial hardships associated 
with the COVID-19 pandemic by providing funds to eligible entities for the 
purpose of preventing homeowner mortgage delinquencies, defaults, 
foreclosures, and displacements of homeowners experiencing financial 
hardship after January 21, 2020, through qualified expenses related to 
mortgages and housing. 

HAF Program Goal To provide financial assistance to eliminate or reduce mortgage loan 
delinquencies to prevent foreclosure and displacement. 

Size of HAF Program DWS will utilize up to $66,030,555.00 of its total HAF allocation for this 
program. 

Maximum Assistance Per Household Applicant(s) DWS will provide eligible Household Applicant(s) qualified expenses related 
to the Household Applicant(s) Primary Dwelling. A Primary Dwelling is a 
one-to four-unit Dwelling that the Household Applicant(s), who is listed on 
the mortgage statement(s) and the County Primary Residential Real 
Property tax records, resides in for a minimum of 183 days or more per 
calendar year. 
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 Maximum assistance amount of the UHAF program will be $50,000 per 
Household Applicant(s). DWS will expend funds as necessary to bring a 
Household Applicant(s) Primary Dwelling fully current, with no remaining 
delinquent amounts, and to repay amounts advanced by the lender or 
servicer on the borrower’s behalf for property charges. 

 
One-to four-unit arrears payments may include: 

 
1. First Mortgage that is at least 30 days delinquent; 
2. Second Mortgage for Down Payment Assistance that is at least 30 days 

delinquent; 
3. Critical Home repair- The UHAF Program will pay for critical primary 

dwelling repair costs up to $15,000 including; repair or replacement 
of a leaking roof, obsolete electrical wiring systems, plumbing 
leakages, repair or replacement of defective or inadequate windows, 
added insulation; as available. Written work orders must be 
approved by a Subrecipient supervisor or designee, before work may 
begin. Work must be performed by licensed contractor and meet all 
applicable code requirements. Subrecipient supervisor or designee 
must inspect, certify work as complete, attest it meets applicable 
building standards, and applicant must also sign upon completion 
before payment will be issued; 

4. Property taxes; 
5. In the case of a permanently affixed manufactured home, if 

taxed by the County as Primary Residential Real Property, 
Chattel loans; 

6. Primary Dwelling Insurance; 
7. Fees: including condominium association, homeowner association, 

and cooperative maintenance fees; 
 

DWS shall limit current UHAF payment amounts as follows: 
8. First Mortgage that is at least 30 days delinquent; 
9. Second Mortgage for Down Payment Assistance that is at least 30 days 

delinquent; 
10. Critical Home repair- The UHAF Program will pay for primary 
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dwelling repair costs up to $15,000 including; Repair or replacement 
of a leaking roof, obsolete electrical wiring systems, plumbing 
leakages, defective or inadequate window repair or replacement, 
added insulation; as available. Written work orders must be 
approved by a Subrecipient supervisor or designee, before work may 
begin. Work must be performed by licensed contractor and meet all 
applicable code requirements. Subrecipient supervisor or designee 
must inspect, certify work as complete, attest it meets applicable 
building standards and applicant must also sign upon completion 
before payment will be issued; 

11. Property Taxes; 

12. In the case of a permanently affixed manufactured home, if 
taxed by the County as Primary Residential Real Property, 
Chattel loans; 

13. Primary Dwelling Insurance; 
14. Fees: including condominium association, homeowner 

association, and cooperative maintenance fees; 
Targeted Population of Household Applicant(s) and Financial 
Challenges Program Seeks to Address 

This program will target low to moderate income Household Applicant(s) 
and will address the following financial challenges: 

● Mortgage loan delinquency and default. This program will assist 
eligible Utah Household Applicant(s) to eliminate or reduce 
mortgage loan delinquency. 

● Exiting forbearance. This program will help eligible Utah Household 
Applicant(s) on forbearance plans to exit forbearance and to 
transition to regular, monthly mortgage payments, so that they can 
begin to regain economic stability. 
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Eligible Household Applicant(s) Must meet the following criteria: 
 

● Household Applicant(s) must have experienced a Financial 
Hardship associated with the COVID-19 pandemic after 
January 21, 2020, and provide an Attestation with supporting 
documentation describing the nature of the Financial Hardship; 

● Household Applicant(s) must currently own and occupy the 
property as their Primary Dwelling; 

● Household Applicant(s) must meet the UHAF eligibility 
requirements; 

● Household Applicant(s) must complete and sign the 
Attestation, Application, Disclosures, and Third-Party 
Authorization forms; 

● Household Applicant(s) must agree to provide all 
necessary documentation to satisfy program guidelines 
within timeframes established by DWS 
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● DWS will require that eligible Household Applicant(s) 
participate in either homeowner counseling or 
homeowner education program. 

● Co-owners are not permitted to separately apply for 
UHAF Program assistance. 

Financial Hardship ● A material reduction in income, or material increase in living 
expenses, associated with the COVID-19 pandemic, that has created 
or increased a risk of mortgage delinquency, mortgage default, 
foreclosure, or displacement for a Household Applicant(s). 

● Reduction of Income – Documented temporary or permanent 
loss of earned income that occurred after January 21, 2020; or 
Increase in living expenses – Documented increase in out-of-pocket 
household expenses such as, medical expenses, inadequate medical 
insurance, or increase in household size, associated with the COVID- 
19 pandemic occurring after January 21, 2020. 

Household Applicant(s) Income Eligibility Requirements ● Household Applicant(s) whose Household Income is equal to or 
less than 150% of the area median income (AMI) or equal to or less 
than 100% of the area median income for the United States, 
whichever is greater 
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Eligible Properties Primary Dwellings that include: 
● One-to four-unit properties; 
● Condominium units; 
● Manufactured homes permanently affixed and taxed by the County 

as Primary Residential Real Property. 
 

The UHAF program is not available for: 
● Second homes, vacant properties, rental properties, or investment 

properties; 
● A First Mortgage, combined with the Second Mortgage as applicable, 

secured by the Primary Dwelling that exceeded the Maximum 
Conforming Loan Limit at the time of origination; 

● A Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) is not eligible for HAF assistance 
However if a HELOC is established but does not have a delinquent 
balance, it would not otherwise preclude HAF assistance; 

● Household Applicant(s) whose First Mortgage, Second Mortgage, 
Property Taxes, Land Contract, Primary Dwelling Insurance, or Fees 
associated with the Household Applicant(s) Primary Dwelling cannot 
be brought fully current, with no remaining delinquent amounts at 
time of Eligibility Determination; 

● Expenses or liens not specifically outlined in UHAF Policy; 
● New construction; 
● Household Applicant(s) that are participating in the Emergency Rental 

Assistance Program or any other rental assistance program 
administered by local housing authority, municipality, or other 
agencies; 
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Eligible Uses of HAF Program Proceeds Eligible uses may include: 
1. First Mortgage that is at least 30 days delinquent; 
2. Second Mortgage for Down Payment Assistance that is at least 30 

days delinquent; 
3. Critical Home Repair- The UHAF Program will pay for critical primary 

dwelling repair costs including; Repair or replacement of a leaking 
roof, obsolete electrical wiring, plumbing leakages, defective or 
inadequate window repair or replacement, and added insulation; as 
available. Written work orders must be approved by a Subrecipient 
supervisor or designee, before work may begin. Work must be 
performed by licensed contractor and meet all applicable code 
requirements. Subrecipient supervisor or designee must inspect, 
certify work as complete, attest it meets applicable building 
standards, and applicant must also sign upon completion before 
payment will be issued; 

4. Manufactured Primary Dwelling – if permanently affixed 
and taxed by the County as Primary Residential Real 
Property, Chattel loans; 

5. Property Taxes; 
6. Primary Dwelling Insurance; 
7. Fees: including condominium association, homeowner association, 

and cooperative maintenance fees; Legal fees and costs, incurred 
by, on behalf of, and for representation of the Household 
Applicant(s) are not considered acceptable use of the UHAF 
program. Legal fees and costs initiated by the lender or servicer of 
qualified expenses of the UHAF program, incurred on behalf of 
and for the purposes of reclaiming arrearages on the Household 
Applicant(s) are considered acceptable uses of the UHAF program; 
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 Exclusions: 
 

● Second homes, vacant properties, rental properties, or investment 
properties; 

● A First Mortgage, combined with the Second Mortgage as applicable, 
secured by the Primary Dwelling that exceeded the Maximum 
Conforming Loan Limit at the time of origination; 

● A Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) is not eligible for HAF assistance, 
However, if a HELOC is established but does not have a delinquent balance, 
it would not otherwise preclude HAF assistance; 

● Household Applicant(s) that are in the Bankruptcy process at the time of 
application 

● New Construction; 
● Expenses or liens not specifically outlined in UHAF Policy; 
● Household Applicant(s) that were determined eligible and received 

monetary assistance for the Emergency Rental Assistance Program  
● Household applicant(s) that are currently participating in any other rental 

assistance program administered by local housing authority, municipality, 
or other agency. 

● Primary dwelling owner seeking a private buyer or listing property as 
available for sale on the public real estate market at the time of eligibility 
determination; 

Assistance Type Assistance will be structured as a non-recourse grant. 

Payout of HAF Assistance UHAF will disburse qualified expenses directly to the servicer, County, or 
provider. In no case will a Household Applicant(s) received direct Monetary 
UHAF funds. 

Program Launch DWS is planning to launch the program to the public in October 2022. 
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Program Duration The period of performance for the UHAF award begins on the date or 
program launch and ends on September 30, 2026. UHAF recipients shall not 
incur any obligations to be paid with the funding from this award after such 
period of performance ends. 

 
DWS plans to disburse all funds by September 30, 2026. 

Application Process  
Household Applicant(s) will be able to apply through an online portal only. 

Eligibility Documentation Requirements The following documents will be required, as applicable, for an application to 
be considered complete: 

● Application for the Utah Homeowner Assistance Fund Program 
● Government issued identification 
● Most recent mortgage statement for each lien 
● Manufactured home loan statement and lot rental agreement 
● Demand Letter or Foreclosure Notice 
● Income documentation (e.g. paystubs, employment letter, 

unemployment insurance award letter, ledgers, or alternative 
income documents as applicable) 

● Third Party Authorization (TPA) and Disclosure Form 
● Qualifying Hardship Attestation and supporting documentation from 

Household Applicant(s) certifying and identifying the Financial 
Hardship associated with the COVID-19 pandemic and occurred after 
January 21, 2020 

Eligibility Determination Notes All decisions must be backed by documentation and written attestation. The 
attestation will include applicable details as to support the decision or action 
taken on the application. 
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Quality Control (QC) On a monthly basis, DWS quality control employee(s) will ensure program 
integrity by auditing a random sample of at least 10% of both the Worker 
approved UHAF Applications and 10% of the Worker denied UHAF Applications 
for both accuracy and completeness. 
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